Seven things that really made my heart happy today

It’s such a hard time in the world these days. I think so many of us are feeling an unusual but lingering heaviness, self included. Pair the big stuff with everyday struggles and discouragements and failures, and it’s just … a lot. Too much. Today I felt the light more than usual amid the darkness, though. I’m feeling grateful for multiple much-needed reminders of love and joy and kindness, the small yet subtly gigantic things that help keep me from drowning in despair. Here are just a few of them.

1. A kind text thread from lifelong friends who love me even when I’m grumpy and hyperbolic

2. Neighbors who greeted our anxious Artie dog this morning with genuine joy, telling me over the cacophony of Artie’s loud barking at their own dog, “It always makes our day better when we see you guys”

3. Artie and Hobo’s individual and combined antics and interestingly developing frenemy relationship

4. A mid-1990s time capsule from my longtime penpal, Rachel M., who came across and shared one of my adolescent missives today

5. Tonight’s successful Forest Park playground crawl with a great group of BWorks alumni and helpers

6. The fact that I got to lead the above ride and do all of my commuting and transport today with my acoustic bike (28 miles!)

7. The arrival of an incredible package in the mail from my cousin Nancy P., including quite a few 1940s-ish pictures of my late paternal grandmother looking absolutely stunning and fierce (and in this one especially, rather like me?)

That’s all tonight. Exhale.

One thought on “Seven things that really made my heart happy today

Leave a comment